About the ATCM

The Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting (ATCM) is the primary forum in which the representatives of Parties to the Antarctic Treaty exchange information, formulate measures, decisions and resolutions to comply with the principles and objectives of the Treaty. The resulting outcomes of the meetings are adopted by consensus of all the Consultative Parties.

The ATCM meets annually and it is hosted by the Consultative Parties according to the alphabetical order of their English names. This meeting will be the third Chile hosts since the Antarctic Conference of 1959.

The invitation to take part in the ATCM includes individual participants and delegations that represent:

  • the 29 Consultative Parties: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, China, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Korea (ROK), Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Poland, Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States and Uruguay;


  • the 24 non Consultative Parties: Austria, Belarus, Canada, Colombia, Cuba, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, Kazakhstan, Korea (DPRK), Malaysia, Monaco, Mongolia, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Switzerland, Turkey and Venezuela;


  • the 3 Observers: The Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR), the Council of Managers of National Antarctic Programs (COMNAP), and the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR);


  • invited Experts: the Secretariat of the Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels (ACAP), the Antarctic and Southern Ocean Coalition (ASOC), the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC), the intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), the International Association of Antarctica Tour Operators (IAATO), the International Hydrographic Organization (IHO), the International Maritime Organization (IMO), the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN), the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP), the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), and the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO).


The ATCM is chaired by a representative of the host country. Between the opening and closing plenary sessions, most of the meeting takes place within the Committee for Environmental Protection (CEP) and various Working Groups. This year discussions will be held around the following Working groups:

  • Working Group on Policy, Legal and Institutional Affairs


  • Working Group on Science, Operations and Tourism


  • Special Working Group (regarding the 25th Anniversary of the Protocol on Environmental Protection)


The conduct of the meeting is supported by the Antarctic Treaty Secretariat (ATS), based in Buenos Aires, Argentina. The Secretariat and the host country collaborate closely in the organization of the meeting in order to achieve a successful outcome.

Resource: atcm39chile.gov.cl